Slash's Snakepit



Slash's Snakepit was an American hard rock band formed by then-Guns N' Roses lead guitarist Slash in 1993. The group's first lineup was composed of Slash's Guns N' Roses band mates Matt Sorum and Gilby Clarke as well as bassist Mike Inez (Alice In Chains) and singer Eric Dover (Jellyfish). They released their debut album, titled It's Five O'Clock Somewhere, on February 14, 1995 through Geffen, charting at #70 on the Billboard 200, and featured contributions by Guns N' Roses keyboardist Dizzy Reed as well as Teddy Andreadis and Paulinho da Costa. Beggars & Hangers-On was released as the albums first single. For the albums supporting tour, Zakk Wylde solo band members James LoMenzo and Brian Tichy joined the group in place of Inez and Sorum who had other commitments. According to Slash's auto-biography, Slash, when Snakepit were booking shows for another leg of their tour, the label pulled financial support after the record sold one million copies and with Guns N' Roses regrouping to record a new album, Snakepit disbanded in 1995.

Read More