Seefeel (Warp Records)

Returning from a 14 year hiatus, electronic-rock outfit Seefeel restate their theories of abused sonic textures with their third self-titled album released on Warp Records.  In exchange for an email, the appropriately titled “Dead Guitars” is available for free.  Plus find out if this epic band is coming through your town as it’s their first ever tour to North America.

Opening with a lurching, loping beat, “Dead Guitars” sounds like astruggle to walk, a skeletal newborn emerging from some primordial ooze. This is the sound of a new Seefeel, textural and hypnotic as you may remember, but much more spiky and brittle, simultaneously challenging and lush, a work of contrasts. A warm resonant dub bass slides in alongside Sarah Peacock‘s whispy vocals, completing the unsettling and exciting effect of the new Seefeel sound.

Listen/download a free Mp3 below, and you’ll know exactly what I mean.

Free MP3: “Dead Guitars”

For those who have waited many years for stateside dates – the band’s first ever North American tour will take place in June and July 2011.  Who’s excited here?

29 USA, Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Bowl
30 USA, New York, NY @ LPR

02 USA, Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
05 USA, Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex
06 USA, San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall


01 – O-on one
02 – Dead Guitars
03 – Step Up
04 – Faults
05 – Gzaug
06 – Rip-run
07 – Making
08 – Step Down
09 – Airless



Seefeel – Seefeel (Warp Records)
Street Date:  Out Now! / iTunes / Amazon UK

Tags: , , , , , , ,