Yuri Lugovskoy

0 Shouts   -   4,242 Scrobbles


Ukranian electronic guru Yuri Lugovskoy arrives on Moteer with an enormously enjoyable collection of atmospheric, minimalist meditations, all very much evocative of the raw, experimental sound designs of early electronic music. Collecting eleven untitled compositions, this album revels in the organic pleasures of relatively simple, elegant signal processing. Using unusual loop structures, an array of warm, muted tones warbles amiably through Lugovskoy's work, at times suggesting some kind of technoid influence (as on the disco-next-door muffled funk of 'Untitled 05') while at others coming closer to old Radiophonic-style primitive soundscapes - never more impressively than on the steely oscillator morphing of 'Untitled 08'. There's also a bond with more 21st century concerns on show here: during something like 'Untitled 03' you might even find yourself reminded of Dan Abrams' Shuttle358 output, and the tone suddenly shifts towards more precise, lowercase experiments. Whichever way you turn there's sure to be something to please even the most probing pair of ears on this album. Recommended. Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Top Songs

Total plays on Last.fm over the last 6 months
  1. Track Three  -  103 plays
  2. Track For Nishi 100  -  138 plays
  3. Track One  -  88 plays
  4. Yuri Lugovskoy 01  -  195 plays
  5. Track Two  -  84 plays
Show More (5)