- Free music downloads, radio, lyrics, songs, and playlists

Southside Movement

0 Shouts   -   37,233 Scrobbles


The Southside Movement was an American soul and funk musical group from Chicago, Illinois. Comprised of vocalist Melvin Moore, guitarist Bobby Pointer, keyboardist Morris Beeks, bassist Ronald Simmons, drummer Willie Hayes, alto saxophonist Milton Johnson, trumpeter Stephen Hawkins, and trombonist Bill McFarland, the group began as the backing band for the soul duo Simtec & Wylie. Southside Movement issued their self-titled debut LP on the Wand record label in 1973; it included the Top 20 R&B hit "I've Been Watching You," which became a breakbeat classic. Their second album, Moving South appeared in 1974, which provided another breakbeat favorite in the track "Save the World". In 1975, the group released their last album Moving South, and despite some success, the Southside Movement disbanded that year. Southside Movement's tracks "I've Been Watching You" and "Save the World" appeared later on the classic breakbeat compilation "Ultimate Breaks and Beats". Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Top Songs

Total plays on over the last 6 months
  1. I've Been Watching You  -  15,363 plays
  2. Funk Talk  -  3,069 plays
  3. Southside Movement  -  2,642 plays
  4. Save the World  -  2,019 plays
  5. Ain't Gonna Watch You No Mo'  -  1,335 plays
Show More (5)