New Grass Revival

0 Shouts   -   214,718 Scrobbles


New Grass Revival was a progressive bluegrass band from 1971 to 1989. The founding members were Sam Bush (mandolin, fiddle, guitar), Courtney Johnson (banjo, guitar), Ebo Walker (Harry L. Shelor Jr.) (b. October 19, 1941) (upright bass) and Curtis Burch (guitar, Dobro), all from Louisville and western Kentucky, except Burch who was from Brunswick, Georgia. They met as members of the Bluegrass Alliance, and when Lonnie Peerce left the group with ownership of the name, they reformed as the New Grass Revival (Bush has credited Walker with coining the term, "new grass"). After the release of their first album, released untitled, and as "New Grass Revival", "The Arrival of the New Grass Revival", and "Today's Bluegrass", Walker left the band. Butch Robins briefly joined the band, but being a talented banjoist he balked at playing bass, and was replaced in 1974 by John Cowan, a bass player with a background in soul music, who also shared lead vocals with Bush.


Top Songs

Total plays on over the last 6 months
  1. Metric Lips  -  28,248 plays
  2. Callin' Baton Rouge  -  16,699 plays
  3. Love Someone Like Me  -  10,746 plays
  4. Revival  -  9,089 plays
  5. Can't Stop Now  -  9,336 plays
Show More (5)